Back to Library

The Secret Life of Pets and Human Obesity

by Ernie Ward, DVM, CVFT

Summer 2017

There’s a secret life of pets that we don’t often talk about. The secret begins with the fact that over half the nation’s dogs and cats are now classified as having overweight or obesity by their veterinary healthcare provider. Nearly 59 percent of cats (50.5 million) and 54 percent of dogs (41.9 million) are at risk for weight-related health disorders.

In addition to pet obesity and its associated illnesses and complications, I’ve also been uncovering another secret of pet obesity: inflammation. In fact, I’d go as far as to say that inflammation is the new “obesity” and is also the real secret we need to reveal to both pet parents and the public.

I’ve been studying pet and humans affected by obesity for the past 20 years. During that time, I’ve witnessed the pet obesity discussion evolve in the following way:

“Fat is funny”

“Fat is deadly”

“Fat is boring”

Many people ignore warnings about pet obesity in the same way they ignored the fatal risks of smoking for decades. Deep down, most folks know that obesity is dangerous; they just don’t think anything bad will happen to them or their pet. Psychologists call this phenomenon “optimism bias,” or the belief that you or your pet is at less risk for harm evidence of the contrary. While this is a necessary coping mechanism that allows us to get through our days, it also gets in the way of change.

For more than five years, I’ve begun changing the way I describe obesity to clients and veterinarians. Pet owners usually see a “big pet.” Most veterinarians see a “fat pet.” I see inflammation. The real danger of obesity in pets and people isn’t the fat; it’s the inflammation the fat causes. That’s what I’ve been communicating the past few years: reducing chronic inflammation associated with obesity should be our true medical objective.