Back to Library

OAC Community Perspectives: Obesity, Art, and Remembering My Brother

Spring 2019

by Austin James

I work as a multidisciplinary artist in Chicago, IL. The main mediums I work with are full-scale art instillations and photography. I also own a boutique art gallery that specializes in a unique collection of contemporary art. My gallery and art studio are both based in the prestigious Zhou B Art Center in Chicago’s South Side – a multi-story arts incubator with sister sites in Beijing and Kansas City.

Outside of art, I’m an avid traveler and I work in real estate in Chicago. I’ve lived in the Chicagoland area for most of my life, but I’ve also lived in Argentina, South Korea and China. I think these experiences give me a unique perspective on culture and the disease of obesity in the U.S.

Honoring My Brother in My Art

In September 2018, I created a full-scale art installation in memory of my late brother Justin, whose life and health were affected by serious obesity, and whose birthday was approaching. It goes without saying that this was a very emotional piece for my family, but I find that art helps me express myself in a way that truly liberates my thoughts.

After working through the necessary steps to put together this art installation, I found that I was able to make peace with his absence and recognize how obesity has affected me personally. I loved my brother—who struggled deeply with obesity—more than words can ever describe, and a loss like this is something I hope no one ever has to endure. Especially, in part, as it is a disease we can try to fight.

Obesity’s Impact on My Family

We grew up in Porter, Indiana, a suburban town about an hour from Chicago. In 2009, at age 27, Justin passed away from pneumonia—although obesity had also compromised his health. I was 22 at the time. My brother was married with two beautiful young children and lived close to our family home.