Back to Library

Members Matter: Empowering Others through Support and Community

by Vu Pham

Summer 2018

I work as an office manager at a bariatric surgery practice. My role is to support the staff, providers and the program that ultimately supports our patients who have chosen bariatric surgery as a tool in their fight against obesity.

While that statement seems to boast of my self-importance, let me translate what this really means. I’ve been responsible for vacuuming, mopping, doing dishes, running network cables through the ceiling, assembling furniture, taking out the trash, pushing patients’ cars out of snow banks, taking phone calls and working with internet technology. Despite all of this, I love my job!

Every day as I head to our office, I look forward to being surrounded by like-minded co-workers who want the best for our patients. I get to work alongside physicians who insist on meeting with patients at the very first appointment (not right before surgery) to establish a relationship and work together toward goals of being healthier and happier. I get to work alongside a staff that genuinely cares about patients and celebrates their achievements, and I get to interact with the most amazing patient community.

My interaction with patients used to be quite limited. I helped when we were short-staffed or needed extra hands. Then, in early 2015, a staff member who was running our practice’s monthly patient support group meetings retired and I decided to temporarily take on the role of Support Group Facilitator. However, I felt far from qualified to be leading these sessions. I could relate to some of our patients’ experiences, but I had not undergone bariatric surgery myself. Would patients be willing to accept a support group contributor who couldn’t relate to this significant life change?